|Q:||Where do I go to apply for a marriage license?|
|A:||Courthouse, 730 Wisconsin Avenue, Racine, 1st floor, North end of the Hallway or at the Burlington City Hall, 300 N. Pine Street, Burlington.|
|Q:||How do I obtain a Marriage License?|
Marriage License Information for Racine County
AGE TO MARRY
Chapter 765 Wisconsin State Statutes
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent. If a person is between 16 and 18, a consent form must be signed by the parents, guardian, custodian (appointed by a court), or person having the actual care, custody and control of the applicant. The written consent must be signed in the presence of the County Clerk or in the presence of a notary public and it must be presented to the County Clerk at the time of application. Consent forms are available at the County Clerk’s Office.
PROOF OF AGE
Each person must present a certified birth certificate. A certified copy of a birth certificate is not a baptismal certificate or the certificate that is issued by the hospital at time of birth. Certified birth certificates have a statement stating that they are true and correct copies of the birth certificate and have an official seal (this seal could be an embossed seal or a colored seal). Only certified copies of the birth certificates will be accepted.
PROOF OF RESIDENCY
Proof of residency must be shown to the County Clerk’s Office. A driver’s license, non-driver’s identification card, gas bill, electric bill, telephone bill listing the person and current address can be used. Residents must prove they have lived in Racine County for at least 30 days at the time of application.
If the last marriage ended in the death of the spouse, a copy of the spouse’s death certificate must be presented.
If the last marriage ended by court annulment, a copy of the judgment from the Clerk of Court in the county in which the annulment was granted must be presented (no waiting period is required).
If the last marriage ended by divorce, a copy of the divorce judgment with the file stamp from the Clerk of Court in the county in which the divorce was granted must be presented (for last marriage only). No person may marry in the State of Wisconsin until the six (6) month waiting period has expired.
Any document not in English must have attached to it a certified or notarized translation. Both the bride and groom must speak and be able to read English. If not, the applicant(s) must provide a translator
(non-relative). The bride or groom may not translate for each other.
OTHER REQUIRED INFORMATION
Each couple will also be asked to provide the following information:
Social security number.
Number of this marriage, race, highest grade of education.
Place of intended marriage – city – village – town and county.
Date of intended marriage.
Name, address, and telephone of the officiant.
BLOOD TEST AND PREMARTIAL EXAMINATION ARE NO LONGER REQUIRED IN THE STATE OF WISCONSIN
PRICE-WAITING PERIOD – EXPIRATION OF LICENSE
The fee for a marriage license is $90.00 CASH ONLY, (fee increase January 1, 2014 to $100.00) payable at the time of application. After the marriage license application has been made, there is a five (5) day waiting period. This waiting period does not start the day of application. It starts on the following day and the license is not issued within those five (5) days. It is advisable that you apply for your license at least two (2) weeks before the wedding.
The County Clerk’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., however, if you come into the office after 4:30 p.m. you may have to return the following day in order to print and sign the necessary papers.
In cases of extreme emergency, you may petition the County Clerk for a waiver of the five (5) day waiting period, the waiver fee is $25.00. Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 30 days in the State of Wisconsin. Counting starts on the day after issuance and ends on day 30.
Out-of-state residents may marry in the State of Wisconsin. They must apply for their marriage license in the County in which they plan to marry. They are required to present the same documents to the County Clerk’s Office that a resident would.
WHO CAN PERFORM MARRIAGES
Any ordained clergyman of any religious denomination or society, court commissioners, family court commissioners, any judge of a court of record, reserve judge, or municipal court judge may perform the ceremony. A list of judges and court commissioners is available in the County Clerk’s Office.
WHERE TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Residents of Racine County may apply for their marriage license at either of the following locations:
RACINE COUNTY COURTHOUSE
If you have any further questions regarding the application for a marriage license, please call the County Clerk’s Office at 636-3122.
COUNTY CLERK’S OFFICE – 1ST FLOOR
730 WISCONSIN AVENUE
RACINE, WISCONSIN 53403
BURLINGTON CITY HALL
300 N. PINE STREET
BURLINGTON, WISCONSIN 53105
Residents in Western Racine County may call the County Clerk’s Office toll free at 1-800-242-4202.
|Q:||Where do I call to find a judge or justice of the peace?|
|A:||We have a list of Judges and Court Commissioners who perform ceremonies. You can click here to get the list.|
|Q:||How do I obtain a dog license?|
|A:||You need to contact your municipal clerk (the city, town, or village in which you live) for a dog license.|
|Q:||How do I find an owner of a lost dog?|
|A:||You need to know the year of the dog tag, the number of the tag, and then contact the County Clerk’s Office at 636-3123. They will then look up the license and inform you of the owner’s name, address, and phone number (if available).|
|Q:||How do I know who my County Board Supervisor, State Senator, and State Representatives are?|
|A:||This information is available by address only. Please contact the County Clerk’s Office at 636-3482 for this information.|
|Q:||How do I obtain a Disabled Fishing License?|
|A:||You need to provide a Driver’s License or Wisconsin I.D., a Forward or Medicaid Card, and $7.00 cash.|
|Q:||Where can I get papers notarized?|
|A:||Our office notarizes non court documents, as long as you have a Driver’s License or Wisconsin ID.|
|Q:||How do I obtain an Official Directory?|
|A:||You may send your request to the Racine County Clerk, 730 Wisconsin Avenue, Racine, along with $2.00 for each copy, and then the office will mail one to you. Or, you may stop by the Racine County Clerk’s Office, for a free copy. Anything over one copy will be $2.00.|